Appellate court opinions will be posted only after they have been made accessible under federal ADA guidelines. If an opinion is not yet available, it is still undergoing the accessibility process. We appreciate your patience and are committed to ensuring that all users can access these documents.
Fayette Tubular Products, Inc., et al. v. Anthony S. Belli 01S01-9704-CH-00091
Authoring Judge: Joe C. Loser, Jr., Special Judge
Trial Court Judge: Hon. Vernon Neal,
This workers' compensation appeal has been referred to the Special Workers' Compensation Appeals Panel of the Supreme Court in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. section 5-6-225(e)(3) for hearing and reporting of findings of fact and conclusions of law. The employer and its insurer contend the claim should be disallowed because the employee engaged in willful misconduct or willfully failed to use a safety appliance. As discussed below, the panel has concluded the judgment should be affirmed. At the time of his injury, the employee or claimant, Belli, was working on a bender, a machine designed to bend and contour parts. The machine was equipped with a light curtain, which is a safety device designed to prevent the machine from operating if the beam of light is broken. When the machine did not work properly, the claimant reached over the light beam to press the reset button. He inadvertently pressed the wrong button and his hand became caught in the machine, injuring him. The chancellor found the claim to be compensable. Appellate review is de novo upon the record of the trial court, accompanied by a presumption of correctness of the findings of fact, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. Tenn. Code Ann. section 5-6-225(e)(2). Where the trial judge has seen and heard the witnesses, considerable deference must be accorded those circumstances on review. McCaleb v. Saturn Corp., 91 S.W.2d 412 (Tenn. 1995). An employer may refuse to pay compensation benefits for an injury resulting from a claimant's willful or intentional misconduct or self-inflicted injury, or because of intoxication or willful failure to use a safety appliance or perform a duty required by law. Tenn. Code Ann. section 5-6-11(a).1 The burden of proof to establish such defense(s) is on the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. section 5-6-11(b).2 The defense of willful misconduct is generally limited to deliberate and intentional violations of known regulations. See Larson, Workmen's Compensation Law (1979) section 32. The essential elements of the defense are (1) an intention to do the act, (2) purposeful violation of orders and (3) an element of perverseness. Rogers v. Kroger Co., 832 S.W.2d 538 (Tenn. 1992). 1 5-6-11. Injuries not covered -- Drug and alcohol testing. -- (a) No compensation shall be allowed for an injury or death due to the employee's willful misconduct or intentional self-inflicted injury, or due to intoxication or illegal drugs, or willful failure or refusal to use a safety appliance or perform a duty required by law. 2 (b) If the employer defends on the ground that the injury arose in any or all of the above stated ways, the burden of proof shall be on the employer to establish such defense. 2
Crowder v. Magic 03S01-9702-CH-00023
Authoring Judge: Senior Judge John K. Byers
Trial Court Judge: Hon. Earl H. Henley,
This workers' compensation appeal has been referred to the Special Workers' Compensation Appeals Panel of the Supreme Court in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. _ 5-6-225(e)(3) for hearing and reporting to the Supreme Court of findings of fact and conclusions of law. The Employee sustained a herniated disk and underwent two lumbar disk surgeries in 1995. The trial court found the back problem was work related and awarded 35 percent permanent partial disability. We affirm the judgment of the trial court. The Employee is now thirty six years old with seven years of formal education. He has fourteen years work experience in factory assembly for this Employer. Prior to that, he worked at a chicken farm and helped his father cut paper wood. On May 4, 1995, he bent over a box at work and felt something "pop" in his low back. He went to the nurse's station, where a "deep heating rub" was applied and he was given an ice pack. He then went back to work, and he continued to work full time until July 1995. In early July, after returning from the July 4th holiday, he experienced increased low back pain and went to the nurse at work again, where he received another deep heating rub. He testified that the pain in his lower back just kept getting worse and started going down his leg, so that he was unable to walk. On July 23, 1995, he went to his family doctor because of the back pain, but he did not tell the doctor about his injury at work. On August 2, 1995, the Employee was involved in an automobile accident and was treated by the same family doctor. When his back pain did not improve, the Employee had an MRI of his lower spine on September 1, 1995. The MRI revealed "a large posterior herniated disc eccentric to the left at the 5-1 level with encroachment into the central canal with AP narrowing as well as eccentric encroachment into the neuroforamina and nerve root on the left." There were also degenerative disc changes. The Employee testified that he was referred to an orthopedic surgeon and, when he discussed his work history and recent activities with the surgeon, they realized that the herniated disk was work related. He immediately reported this to his Employer. 2
Knox
Workers Compensation Panel
AMC-Tennessee, Inc. v. Hillcrest Healthcare M2003-00882-COA-R3-CV
Authoring Judge: Judge William B. Cain
Trial Court Judge: Irvin H. Kilcrease, Jr.
In this appeal arising from a breach of contract claim, the appellant, Hillcrest Healthcare, LLC challenges the trial court's award of damages in the amount of $337,363.59 including $219,937 in lost profits. We affirm.
Tennessee Municipal League vs. Brook Thompson 01S01-9711-CH-00242
The ruling listed above is the Order regarding the "Tiny Towns" legislation. The full opinion will be published at a later date.
Adams v. Peterbilt 03S01-9603-CV-00031
Authoring Judge: Senior Judge John K. Byers
Trial Court Judge: Hon. Wheeler Rosenbalm,
This workers' compensation appeal has been referred to the Special Workers' Compensation Appeals Panel of the Supreme Court in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. _ 5-6-225(e)(3) for hearing and reporting to the Supreme Court of findings of fact and conclusions of law. The plaintiff brought this suit in which he alleged he was totally and permanently disabled and that he was entitled to medical benefits from his employer and the Second Injury Fund. The trial judge found the plaintiff had sustained a 6 percent impairment as a result of an on-the-job injury on May 27, 1994. The trial judge dismissed the suit as to the Second Injury Fund because the amount of the disability of the plaintiff from the current injury when combined with previous workers' compensation injuries did not exceed 1 percent permanent total disability. The plaintiff, in this appeal, says the trial court erred in not finding he was permanently and totally disabled as a result of the May 27, 1994 injury and in not awarding him benefits from the Second Injury Fund. The judgment of the trial court is affirmed. The treating physician, Dr. Robert E. Finelli, an orthopedic surgeon, testified the plaintiff had a ruptured disc at the L4-L5 vertebrae. Dr. Finelli did surgery on the plaintiff and treated him until September 2, 1994. Dr. Finelli returned the patient to work and found he had sustained a 1 - 12 percent permanent medical impairment as a result of the injury. The plaintiff had undergone two previous back surgeries and Dr. Finelli considered these in determining the medical impairment from the last injury. Dr. Finelli was of the opinion that if the plaintiff returned to heavy work he would be at risk for a possible ruptured disc. It was his further opinion that if he did medium work the risk of further back injury was low. Dr. Gilbert Hyde, an orthopedic surgeon, saw the plaintiff on July 28, 1995 for the purpose of evaluating his disability. Dr. Hyde found the plaintiff to be suffering a 22 percent medical impairment as a result of the injury of May 27, 1994. Dr. Hyde 2